Because unlike the rest of this “list building” training which I wrote in 2011, and which is still 100% relevant today because it’s based on strategically “influencing” human behavior in a way that’s evergreen.
… traffic tactics change all the time. What worked in 2011 doesn’t work now. Not like it was presented.
So here’s what I’ve done…
I have just emailed that original list of “traffic ninjas”—along with a few new people— and presented them with the scenario below:
You have a campaign. Points 2 & 3 below are completely setup:
- Traffic [required]
- Lead Capture
- Offer (affiliate and/or own product sold via an email soap opera sequence)
You have an initial traffic budget of $500 (if needed) to “run this test” to acquire new subscribers. What would you do to generate new leads?
You can’t leverage your own list (you have no list in this scenario). You’re not a guru authority with clout.
To build a new list of targeted subscribers.
Below are the traffic getting answers I’ve received from my friends. These will all work in 2015/6, and some, way beyond.
These days it’s all about meaningful content and content distribution.
So I would write a killer blog post…
Actually, I’m realizing that what I’m about to tell you is actually nothing new to you.
You’ve been doing what’s working today for over 8 years.
Write a killer piece of content, blend in a highly relevant opt-in offer, and end it with a pitch for your product.
Your old multi-step sales pages are essentially what everyone is hot about today.
The problem is many are still stuck in the old ways. They hear “drive traffic to articles” and think “make the article vague so they click through to my sales page.”
Their articles/advertorials/native ads are just big glorified banner ads.
Instead they should be creating wickedly good articles that when read by a potential new lead makes the reader instantly want to buy from you because your article was so valuable.
Like your old sales letters.
Not everyone got to page 4, but those who did were SOLD.
It’s 8 years later and I’m still sold on your value from those old sales letters.
That’s where we are today.
Using ads to help strangers in our market find and see our value (good). Rather than using ads to lure suspects into our funnels (bad).
Here’s what I would do with a lead capture and offer, or even just an offer.
Since I can’t use my email list, I want to use the next best thing, which is someone else’s list.
I’m going to go find all the lists in my market that are available and and I’m going to get on them. Either by subscribing or buying the products if I have to.
What I’m looking for is what offers get mailed to those lists, which lists mail offers frequently and what lists accept 3rd party advertising.
This tells me three things…
- The first is what offers are converting,
- the second is which lists are responsive,
- and finally it tells me which lists are open to me spending my advertising dollars with them.
With all that info, I would find lists that mail offers very similar to mine and are open to 3rd party advertising and narrow it down to my top 1-2.
With my very short list of lists, I’m going to contact the list owners and tell them I want to advertise in the list and that want to test a portion of the list first before I buy the whole list.
If they sell advertising regularly then they have a list rental fee for the whole list and you just ask for a portion based on the money you have available to spend.
They will either accept or not. If they don’t go to the next list. Continue this process until you find a list that will work with you.
If none of the lists that already accept advertising will work with you, then I would go to the other lists that don’t normally accept advertising but do promote other offers and make the following offer…
I would tell them that I want to advertise in their list and will guarantee them whatever their normal EPC (Earnings per Click) is. Most lists will have an EPC between 0.50 and 1.50 depending on the offers they promote.
Tell them that you would like to buy some clicks from them to test your offer.
You will negotiate with them to find out what their normal EPC is and once you agree you take your EPC and divide it into the the amount of money you have to spend to figure out how many clicks you can buy.
There is a little work to it, but it will give you the most targeted traffic and will give you offer the best opportunity to succeed.
To make this easy, let’s assume I am promoting an offer to the male muscle building niche.
For the first $200, I would test two different squeeze pages.
I’d tightly target on Facebook the exact demographics I was after, with interests, etc. I’d pause after spending $200 and then let a 7 day sequence play out.
- A short blind squeeze to get a lot of names.
- A longer 1-2 page presell with cliffhanger to opt-in to get the rest.
I would have a 5-7 part email sequence for each of the squeeze pages above.
I would track sales conversions for each squeeze page after the 7 email sequence is complete, and compare.
At this point I would most likely have a clear winner.
(Hopefully) I would come close to break even, but lets assume I only make 2 total sales ($47 per sale). So with $200 spent to make roughly $100, I am down $100.
With $400 left…
I take the winning squeeze page and spend $200 on 2 different audiences:
- $200 on males 25-40 with specific interests similar to my offer.
- $200 on males 40-55 with specific interests similar to my offer.
The 40-55 audience has more money and typically converts better, but also costs more per click. The test would be to compare ROI between these two groups.
After this final $400 is spent, I should most likely find that one of these audiences at least breaks even at $200.
If this is the case, I have a winning campaign.
Going forward I would continue to reinvest profits into that winning audience and scale.
I would use that initial offer to break even and the big profits would come by expanding the SOS sequence to promote related affiliate offers.
After that was dialed in and making 200% or more ROI, I’d expand out and test different traffic sources (AdWords, CPV, Taboola, etc.)
Unlike a lot of people, I wouldn’t spend the $500 on advertising.
And then I would use the rest of the money to buy products related to my audience. I would look for products with a strong sales funnel and either large or recurring commissions. If it’s a one-time commission, I would want at least $50 per sale. If it’s a recurring commission, I would want at least five dollars per month on my end.
From there, I would create a lead magnet, opt-in page, and soap opera sequence using the AutoResponder Madness model. Following that, I would create a Product Launch Sequence for each product, ideally a limited time bonus or coupon to provide some urgency.
Nothing really groundbreaking there. Here’s what I would do differently from a lot of people, though:
Instead of going for paid traffic, I would write guest posts for a blog with more than 100,000 subscribers in exchange for a link back to my opt-in page.
There are only a couple dozen of big blogs like this, so you have to choose your audience and products carefully, but the traffic costs you no money, and the quality of the traffic is better than even endorsed traffic from an affiliate.
Because you’re positioning yourself as an authority.
Imagine reading an article on Forbes about analytics, and at the end of the article, the author links to an opt-in page where you can get in the minicourse on setting up your analytics.
If you’re coming to the page from an ad, you might hesitate, because you don’t know the author, but if you’re coming from Forbes, and you liked the article they wrote, you already trust them and want to hear more about what they have to say.
And then let’s say the Forbes writer has a few product launch sequences recommending different analytics products. Chances are, you’re going to buy one of them, because you trust and respect his opinion.
The authority positioning of writing for big publication has an ENORMOUS impact on conversions. It could be a difference of 500% compared to paid traffic.
When I was a beginner, I used to get about 200 opt-ins per guest post, and I would convert 10% of them on a $600 product. That’s $12,000 in sales in exchange for writing an article. Not bad. Better than anyone earns writing for the New York Times.
Anyway, the big take away here is authority positioning.
It REALLY helps.
You’ll get less overall traffic, but the quality of the traffic is incredible. I’ve sold $10,000 coaching programs from guest posts, and it converted. That’s how good the traffic is.
Obviously, you have to be a damn good writer to pull it off, though. If you can barely put a sentence together, this strategy won’t really work very well.
On the other hand, writing for authority sites is a lot easier than most people think. For instance, you can write for Forbes without any credentials or writing portfolio whatsoever. I’ve helped several people do it.
Also, just to be clear, I’m not discounting paid traffic. It’s great. When you’re a beginner though, I just think guest posting is the best “ramp up” strategy. From there, you can transition to paid traffic when you’re ready to scale.
Okay, so I thought this time I would jump in and share one of my strategies for acquiring leads for free who are hot new PAYING customers.
To my knowledge I’ve never revealed this before.
I first executed this strategy in early 2007.
I was promoting a product called Day Job Killer. Great product, and the author, Chris McNeeney, was pushing it hard.
To add value to the offer I created a bonus (which was a PDF mind map of Day Job Killer). It summarized the whole product onto just one page.
People loved it!
At some point I showed it to Chris, who loved it too. He asked me whether he could give all his new DJK customers access to it.
… and this is where I saw the opportunity.
So I told him … yes, but only under two circumstances:
- He couldn’t advertise the mind map as a bonus on the front end (on his sales letter). This bonus needed to remain EXCLUSIVE to me.
- I made my bonus available for only 72 hours (urgency! … and because I wanted to retain the sense of exclusivity to my own buyers).
So he emailed his brand new DJK customer (buyer!) list. Told them they had 72 hours to get a “limited time” unadvertised bonus.
Guess what happened?
I added over 2,000 people to my email list (I don’t remember the exact number).
Think about that.
It cost me zero in advertising spend. I added two thousands new buyers of a $67 product. There were upsells too, so many of these people paid a lot more.
… and I acquired them over a 72 hour period (they were motivated enough, after already buying DJK, to jump through another hoop to get this bonus).
These same leads went on to earn me HUNDREDS of thousands of dollars. I wish I knew the exact number. Some are still on my list today.
This worked so damn well, I went on and did it a number of other times. And I’ve never told anyone about his 🙂
There are other creative ways to “tweaking” this workflow. I’m not going to spell ’em out. But if you can think a little, it’ll be easy.
I know this wasn’t strictly adhering to the brief I game my friends. But I thought it was time I share this.
Those of you who take action on this will be rewarded BIG TIME. No question. You may not get a “yes” out the gate. Be persistent and you will.
Head over and read the final lesson in this reprint.
André “awesome traffic friends” Chaperon